William H. Webster Award

The William H. Webster Award, founded by the Society in 2001, recognizes and honors an active-duty FBI Special Agent for exemplary public or humanitarian service provided outside of his or her official employment as a Special Agent of the FBI. The award was named after former Director William H. Webster in honor of his outstanding stewardship of the FBI during very difficult times and his continued support of the Bureau and the Society since his retirement from government service. In addition to recognizing the award recipient for extraordinary service, the Society, through the Foundation, donates $5,000 to the charity or public service chosen by the award recipient.


2001 Mark Johnston
2002 Michael C. Kelly
2003 Samuel N. Spencer
2004 Rita L. Hessel
2005 Lucas A. Beebe
2006 George R. Green, Jr.

2007 Maureen “Mo” Perez
2008 Scott Wanamaker
2009 R.W. and Deborah Gannaway
2010 Jane Pearson
2011 Jill Enyart
2012 Joseph V. Walsh

2013 Brian Cyprian
2014 Awards now biennial
2015 Michael Nevitt
2017 Michael Gifford
2019 Justin N. Downen


Louis E. Peters Memorial Award

Louis E. Peters was a successful automobile dealer in California. In 1977, the Bonanno organized-crime family approached him and wanted to buy his dealership in order to use the business to launder illegal funds. Peters went to the FBI and offered to help in whatever way he could. To protect his family from threats and violence, Lou found himself with no other choice but to obtain a legal separation from his wife. For the next 20 months, he secretly recorded conversations with Mafia leader Joseph Bonanno, Sr. and others, dedicating himself tirelessly to the investigation. Due in large part to Peters’ selfless actions, Joseph Bonanno, Sr., was sentenced to five years in prison on an obstruction of justice charge. FBI Director William H. Webster presented Peters with an award that read in part, “To Lou Peters, who set new standards of patriotism, of selflessness, and of valor, with the gratitude and respect of his FBI friends.” It is in this vein that the FBI and the Society jointly established the Louis E. Peters Memorial Service Award. The Award has been presented at the National Conference since 1982 to that person who best exemplifies the standards set by Peters in providing service to the FBI and the nation. A $5,000 check is presented to the recipient along with this high civilian honor.


1982 Rufus Young
1983 John Stine
1984 Scott and Cheryl Piechowicz
1985 William H. Tanner, Jr.
1986 Uli Derickson
1987 Marvin Smith
1988 Herman “Duffy” Mazzeo
1989 Terry Hake
1990 Rev. John Burgess
1991 John Walsh
1992 Barbara Makuch
1993 Mark James Hankoff 
1994 James Wright
1995 Robert H. Anthony
1996 Jesus Justo Guerra
1997 Robert Scott Taylor
1998 Karl Ohs
1999 Michael Cates
2000 Richard Ganey
2001 Germain Salazar
2002 Dr. Verda Hunter
2003 Dr. Jacquelyne Holdcraft
2004 Nichole Lopez
2005 Robert A. Rieser 
2006 Mehrdad Ghaderi
2007 Thomas D. Ganley
2008 Raymond Lawrence
2009 Keiflyn Amanda Freitas
2010 Lori A. Mody
2011 Mohamed Elibiary
2012 Harold P. Moss
2013 David Rupert
2014 Awards now biennial
2015 Rosalie Bell
2017 Dr. Adam "Jamal" Nazzal
2019 Ian Grillot


Frances M. Keogh Award

The Frances M. Keogh Memorial Fund was established in 1991 to honor the late Executive Director of the Society through donations to charitable organizations, geographically close to the site of the conference. Contributions in her name are given by the Foundation to organizations that are devoted to the care of the sick, poor and homeless people of our country. The Frances M. Keogh Memorial Award is presented each year at the annual conference. The recipient of the award is chosen by the conference host committee and receives a $1500 donation from this self-sustaining restricted fund. The only stipulation set by the Board of Trustees is that the recipient be a local, community-based effort like those to which Fran Keogh devoted herself.

Humanitarian Service Award

This award is presented annually to a Society member or spouse who altruistically goes above and beyond the call of civic duty. Candidates include those performing voluntary humanitarian services that contribute to the welfare of others through the alleviation of human suffering, the advancement of science, education and cultural arts. The recipient is honored at the Annual Conference and presented an award and a check for $5,000 in the name of his or her favorite charity. The charity chosen must be a United States based 501c3 charity. 




CLICK HERE to download the Humanitarian Service Award Nomination Form.


Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal